What Happens If You Are Charged With Marijuana Possession in Memphis, Tennessee?

Possession

If you’re charged with misdemeanor marijuana possession in Memphis, you may be facing potential jail time, in addition to a fine and court costs, and the chance of owning a permanent conviction in your record. Your case will be discovered at the criminal courthouse downtown, located at 201 Poplar Avenue, unless the crime occurred in a surrounding area such as Bartlett, Collierville or even Germantown. These areas have their very own courts which are set up to deal with these kinds of cases. If you are outside of Tennessee the legislation and procedures of a marijuana possession case could differ.

Lots of people charged with marijuana possession may wish to www.trythecbd.com understand whether the fee is going on their record indefinitely. It is different. In the event the individual hasn’t been convicted of a crime before, they is going to qualify to register for an app called judicial recreation (usually just referred to as diversion). Diversion is a Tennessee law which allows qualified first-time offenders to get the entire record of the case dismissed and removed from completion of probation. Additionally, there fines for marijuana possession under Tennessee law, and they vary from $250 for firsttime offenders to $1000 for repeat offenders.

Diversion does require a guilty plea, but ruling is then suspended therefore that the average person can start and finish statute. Possessing the decision suspended implies that the average person is not convicted. The fee remains pending during custody, also will be taken away once probation is completed along with the fee is ignored.

During childbirth the individual will have to, first and foremost, stay out of trouble. Becoming charged with yet another crime is going to lead to a violation of probation and possibly being sentenced to prison for its entire 11 months and 29 days. There’ll be conditions of probation like community support, medication offender classes, along with random and frequent medication displays. A failed drug screen may even result in a breach. The person must pay court fees, penalties, and tax fees.

When probation is completed, the person return to court to have the scenario officially ignored by the judge. Each one of the aforementioned costs and fines must be paid by this point. Upon dismissal, an expungment order is going to be ready for the attorneys and the judge to sign. This order authorizes the destruction of public records regarding the offense.

For an individual charged with misdemeanor marijuana possession in the Memphis area, diversion may be your perfect way to assure the billed is properly disposed of and stays off his or her album. It requires a little time and some capital, however should successfully completed the fee will be removed forever.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *